Lemon Yoghurt Cake

I first made a version of this cake about 15 years ago back in South Africa, using a recipe book I borrowed from a friend. I’ve lost contact with her over the years and I have absolutely no idea what the title of the book was, but thankfully, with the gazillions of recipes at our fingertips on the web these days, I was able to find one similar* which, in true Chocolate Goose fashion, I have adapted to my own liking.

Lemon Yoghurt CakeWhile I’m sure the one I found is perfectly good as it is, I’ve been keen to use the Dreamy Lemon yoghurt I discovered a few months ago, which is part of the Fresh ‘n Fruity range. Many of New Zealand’s dairy products are available in over 70 countries, so you might even find a tub of this good stuff locally, but if you can’t find it, or anything similar, you can always use plain yoghurt and add lemon juice and zest.

As the cake has oil instead of butter as an ingredient, it has a delicately moist texture and stays fresher for longer without drying out.

Now we all know that plain unsweetened yoghurt is far healthier than the flavoured sugar-filled stuff I’m talking about, so I removed 3/4 of a cup of sugar from the recipe I found.

The icing sugar is a simple royal icing, with a teaspoon of butter added. I guess this adds flavour and setting properties as royal icing is normally quite runny/liquid.

.Not only does this cake taste good, it looks beautiful and fresh too. A few slivers of lemon or orange zest sprinkled over the top makes for a festive tea-cake fit for a celebration. I chose to make a single layer in a rectangular tin this time, but I’ve made it in loaf tin before. The original recipe called for a round hollow baking pan. I need to get myself one of these as I like the way the icing drizzles over both the inside and outside edges. I’ll add it to my wish-list.

ingredients:
1 cup oil, preferably a lighter flavoured oil
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
½ tsp salt
1½ cups Fresh ‘n Fruity Dreamy Lemon yoghurt
2 cups self-raising flour

icing:
1 tsp butter, melted
2 tsp freshly squeezed lemon
1 tsp hot water (only add a few drops at a time if icing consistency too thick)
2 cups icing sugar (no need to sieve)

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C. Grease and line your cake/loaf/ring tin.
  2. Place oil, eggs and sugar into a food processor and mix until thick.
  3. Add salt and yoghurt and mix again.
  4. Sift in flour and mix gently, then pour into the prepared tin and bake for 30 – 35 minutes (time will vary depending on the size tin you use so check regularly).
  5. Cool in the tin for about 10 minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack.

To make the icing, mix the melted butter, lemon juice and icing sugar together. Add the hot water sparingly and only if required or else it could be too runny. You want a relatively thick spreadable consistency. Only ice the top of the cake once it is completely cool. Decorate by sprinkling the lemon or orange zest over the top.

Enjoy!

*original recipe found at http://www.foodtolove.co.nz

back to top

 

Leave a Reply

