Mini Lunch-box Pizzas

Although a pretty organised person by nature, some weeks throw us out of whack and it feels like we’re chasing our tails. The first two days of this past week felt like that, but by mid week I seemed to be on top of things again. It’s during these crazy times that I am really glad for a little pre-planning and I can rely on having the ingredients I need to whip up a meal or grab lunch box fillers out the fridge or pantry or even a ready-made frozen sandwich.

Mini Lunch-box PizzasThe school term is back into full swing with activities on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays; weekly spelling tests to prepare for; this past week we had a school trip; choir books to remember on certain days; library books to be returned; swimming togs daily for the current training on the go at school, etc. and that’s all just for my 9 year old. But this is the wonderful life of a working Mom that I am so very blessed to call my life and I thoroughly enjoy it. And all other Moms, both working and stay-at-home, completely understand and laugh at the normality of life. A while ago I had a moan on Facebook about what seemed like an endless list of chores I was ticking off when a long-time very special friend put me in my place very eloquently, but nicely. Her comment was something like: “So just another regular day being a Mom…”. That shut me up pretty quickly. She has 3 sons, two of them fully grown and left home ages ago. She’s walked the walk and is savouring the time with her youngest at home.

It’s easy to get caught up in the daily drudgery – and can sometimes feel like Groundhog Day (remember the early 90’s movie starring Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell?) or like you’re stuck on a hamster wheel, but it is so important to live in the moment. That doesn’t mean every moment has to be a happy moment. Sometimes the moment might be one where we want to pull our hair out, or lock ourselves in a dark room so we can sleep, have peace or read a book. At other times the moment is maddeningly busy, or filled with spontaneous laughter, or joyful surprises of seeing your offspring take pride in doing something for themselves, or lie in bed snuggling while they read to you, or the good-bye kiss and frantic hug of a pre-teen boy outside school before he dashes off at top speed.

I cherish the fact he still sometimes grabs hold of my hand or walks with his arm around me around the shops, or calls me from another room to say: Mom? I love you! I know these moments will get less and less over the coming years, but I will cherish each and every one of them.

School lunches are a whole other topic on their own. I recently started following a group called Lunch boxes for Kids or Kids School Lunches, or something like that on Facebook and I am constantly amazed at the very beautiful, designer arrangement of foods that get sent off to school. I almost feel sorry for the children because I can imagine the sorry state it might be in when they finally get to open their lunch. My child isn’t reckless with his backpack, but kids run, jump, fling their bags around, hang them up, knock them over, you name it…it happens. I far prefer using smaller re-usable containers that are dishwasher safe to kill off any possible germs and seal the food so it stays in portions or separate to other food. These mini pizzas are a great break from sandwiches and I pop one in once a week. Once made, they are cooled and then packaged into freezer bags, separated by baking parchment so they’re easy to get apart. Then on the morning before school, I pop one, still frozen, into the flat sandwich container and it is thawed and ready to eat by lunch time. No pizza dough or toppings used on these ones, but you can add whatever you wish on top. I found mini wholewheat pita pockets, smothered one side in tomato pizza sauce and covered in a mixture of cheeses and baked in the oven. Perfect!

These particular pita breads guarantee 100% natural ingredients with no preservatives, no additives, great for Vegans and GE free. I’m not sure about nut free though, but they may contain traces of poppy and sesame seeds – gosh, I should be getting a kick-back! And just mentioning the obvious, if you prefer to only half the packet, you have the other half left over for fresh pitas in the lunch boxes too.

ingredients:
1 packet Danny’s Mini Wholemeal Pita Breads (contains 8)
1 packet Tomato Pizza paste or use my Basil, Tomato & Garlic Sauce
2 cups mixed cheese (Mozzarella, Edam and/or Colby)

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a baking tray with baking parchment.
  2. Spread the pizza paste/tomato sauce over the pita breads.
  3. Sprinkle over the cheese (and any other toppings you like).
  4. Bake for 12 – 15 minutes until the cheese has melted and the bases is slightly crispy.
  5. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool before laying a square of baking parchment between them and packing into freezer bags.
  6. Once frozen, they must be used within 3 months.

Enjoy!

back to top

Leave a Reply

