Chocolate Easter Tart and New Beginnings

With Easter just around the corner I thought I’d better get myself into gear and share a few ideas with you. For many Easter is a long weekend filled with chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate, but it represents so much more to so many and I find myself trying to focus on the true meaning of the solid and hollow eggs, bunnies and chickens. And that, for me, is all about New Beginnings.

Chocolate Easter Pie 1For many years now I’ve had a single wish, which has been to be blessed with another addition to our little family of three, but it hasn’t happened. We’ve had our share of disappointments, but I will be forever grateful for the beautiful child we have been blessed with. He is an absolute joy, our treasure and a gift from God. I feel for the many couples in this world that aren’t able to naturally become parents as it truly is the most fantastic journey I’ve ever been on.

The reason I bring this up now and relate it to New Beginnings, is that I’ve finally found the strength to move on. To accept my life as it is and to be happy. That means that over the past few months I’ve re-opened all the boxes of clothes, linen, toys and baby gear I had so lovingly packed away years ago with the full expectation that I would soon be unwrapping them and using them for baby number 2, and 3, and 4. It has been a long and sad process to come to terms with the “loss”, but I’m finally ready. It was incredibly painful at first and I have to admit I’ve cried buckets, but I have achieved a level of peace I hadn’t thought possible not too long ago. I’ve actually begun to sell some of the items and although an emotional time, I feel good being able to pass them on to new families who can enjoy them. Thank you to my special friends who have shared parts of this journey with me, many of whom have 2, 3, or 4 children but have always been a shoulder to lean on and only a conversation away.

So as they say, Onwards and Upwards! Here’s to the next chapter in my wonderful life. I am abundantly blessed in so many ways and thankful for every new day, especially when I get to enjoy delicious food with my special family and friends and, of course, you.

This tart is very rich, it’s indulgent so be aware that a little goes a long way. Play with it, milk chocolate or dark both work extremely well, but see what works best for your audience. These gorgeous colourful eggs are actually M&Ms always on sale around this time of year, but it can be enjoyed plain or with berries, or with hundreds of other styles of decorations. These particular lollies have a biscuit crunch to them and are so addictive! A whole bag doesn’t last very long in our home at all.

ingredients:
250 g shortbread biscuits, crushed
90 – 125 g butter, melted
400 ml double cream at room temperature
400 g milk chocolate
45 ml golden syrup
45 ml Amaretto, Cointreau, Kahlua, brandy or sherry (optional)
chocolate decorations or icing sugar and fresh berries

  1. Combine the crushed biscuits and melted butter and push into the base (and sides if you wish) of a 20cm loose-bottom cake or tart tin. Place into the fridge to set for about 30 minutes.
  2. Whip the cream until just before it starts to thicken and set it aside.
  3. Melt the chocolate in a double-boiler or in a glass bowl over boiling water on the stove or in the microwave and stir in the syrup and liqueur if using. If not using liqueur, replace with an additional 45 ml of cream. Stir in a little cream if the chocolate begins to set.
  4. Fold the remaining cream into the chocolate mixture and pour it over the biscuit crumbs. Spread it evenly. Chill overnight.
  5. Either decorate with Easter themed treats or dust with icing sugar and serve with fresh berries.

Enjoy!
back to top

Leave a Reply

