Liebster Award – to do or not to do…

Last weekend I was very kindly nominated for a Liebster Award, well, not me personally, but my blog.  I have been blogging for a year and a half now and my blog is a little like a journal, sometimes personal but most times just a way of sharing my favourite recipes with people who love food, family and friends.

Liebster Award

As I work 5 days a week and am a busy mom and homemaker, blogging is a hobby I wish I could spend more time on but sadly, a weekly entry is about all I get to so I was really flattered when I received this nomination from a fellow blogger. As I had never heard of the Liebster Award, I set about trying to learn more. My initial reaction, after being surprised, was a feeling of awkwardness. Did I really want to accept this award? Did I really deserve it? Is it something I want to share on my page? And then I was horrified by my feelings and felt guilty about not being immediately overjoyed. Turns out the Award is passed on from blogger to blogger, creating awareness and presence for new blogs to be able to find new audience and showing appreciation for the time and effort they put into their blogs. So what to do…? Did I really want a list of questions on my blog about me that  may or may not be of any interest to anyone happening upon my blog or my very kind and faithful readers? Would it “cheapen” this lovely site with all it’s beautiful recipe photos or would it actually enhance it and help to spread the word.

How can something so kind and generous from a complete stranger cause me such stress? Probably cos I’ve had one of those weeks where even my boss said yesterday that it felt like there could possibly be hidden cameras in our office and we were just unknowing participants on some sort of game show where we were being pushed to our absolute limits and the prize would go to the one who managed to fall apart completely in a state of stressed out self-combustion. And then today, being Friday, I decided to plaster a smile on my face, breathe deeply and face whatever the Universe chose to throw at me with diplomacy and grace – until I got into my car ready to set off for school drop-offs and then on to work – only to have the battery be completely dead so you know what I did? I burst into tears and sat in the driver’s seat and sobbed.

A helpful neighbour, an unexpected and expensive battery purchase and an arrival at work an hour late only to find the problem at work wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be, I decided to spend a few peaceful moments this afternoon trying to decide about my Liebster Award.

When all else fails, turn to Google, where I happened upon a fellow blogger who, to my absolute delight, felt exactly the same as me! I wasn’t alone! And then I read the comments and realised there were others in our anti-Liebster Award secret society. Well, not “anti” as it is a great honour and I thank my nominator from the bottom of my heart for wanting to promote my pet project, but I’ve found the strength to decide that I won’t be passing it on. I don’t want to list the questions on my blog as my blog is all about scrumptious food and sharing recipes with friends.

So to the lovely Karen from Mummydoit, I thank you most sincerely from the bottom of my heart for your nomination, but if I am to stay true to my feelings and the purpose of my blog, albeit still with a touch of “the guilts”, I have to say that I won’t be passing on the award.

To Meredith from Perfection Pending, I thank you for your frankness and honesty, and humour I could so easily understand – I get you – as it gave me the courage to admit I feel exactly the same way as you: humbled and grateful for the nomination, but with a hint of uncomfortable-ness. And yes Grammer Whizzes, I know that isn’t even a word, but it works for me on this day of days, forgive me.

And I have a beeeeooootifulll chocolate sauce recipe to share with you in the next day or so – a perfect Christmas gift – it is one of Annabel Langbein’s recipes and reminds me of the chocolate sauce of my youth.

Enjoy!

back to top

Leave a Reply

