Coconut Fudge Balls

This past week a friend and I were chatting and she told me I’ve become a true Soccer Mum. We laughed at the time, but I suppose she’s right, and I’ll wear that badge proudly. Growing up all I really wanted was to be a Mother. I used to watch all the other mothers of kids at my school who would fetch and carry for after school sport, they were involved and showed interest. Whether shouting encouragement from the sidelines or actively getting involved in other ways and I knew then that I wanted to be that kind of Mum to my own kids one day.

Coconut BallsLast summer my son wanted to play Summer Soccer, but he is a very active child with no end to his energy reserves and already had swimming, keyboard and Tag (a form of junior rugby league) on the go, with cricket on Saturdays so we agreed he could play Summer Soccer this season. When it came time to register him for a team I was told that it was up to parents to put teams together as it isn’t run by the Soccer Club the way Winter Soccer is, with proper leagues, etc. After a couple of weeks of frustration trying to find a team for him to join, my only avenue was to create and manage one myself. So our Stormers were born. 6 little boys all eager to release their energy on a Monday afternoon. You should see them, they’re an awesome little team and I have the pleasure of collecting 3 of them from school and looking after them until time for soccer. Last week a friend had to work late so I had 4 of them with me and it was an absolute hoot! Mayhem probably describes it better with one singing at the top of his lungs, the other yelling greetings out the window to passers by (nice greetings, and truth be told, probably not loud enough for anyone but us to hear him), one had my iPhone and was directing us using the compass and the 4th just laughed and laughed.

Eventually we got home and I was able to let them loose in the back yard while I prepared some afternoon tea for 4 hungry tummies. I still had some of the Healthy Muffin mixture in the fridge so popped that into the oven but soon discovered it was these little fudgy morsels that were the favourite. They not only look great and store well in a sealed container in the fridge for up to a week (they could probably be stored for longer but they’re normally all gobbled up before the week is out).

If you aren’t fond of coconut, just leave it out. It isn’t in the mixture itself, but the balls are rolled in it before letting them set.

ingredients:
250 g butter
1 egg
1 Tbsp cocoa powder
a pinch of salt
500 g icing sugar
1 – 2 tsp vanilla extract/essence
1 250 g packet plain biscuits (Marie or vanilla wine biscuits work well)
desiccated coconut

  1. Melt the butter in a large pot over a low heat. Remove from the heat.
  2. Beat the egg well and add to the butter, stirring continuously with a bulb whisk – you don’t want to scramble the egg, just gently cook it while combining with the butter.
  3. Sieve the cocoa, icing sugar and salt into the butter-egg mixture and add the vanilla extract.
  4. Stir well to combine.
  5. Crush the biscuits into fine crumbs and add to the mixture. When well blended place in the fridge to cool (not too long as you don’t want it to set too much).
  6. Roll teaspoon sized blobs of the mixture into little balls (just use your fingers people, don’t be fiddling with 2 spoons!) and coat in the coconut. This is easiest if you spread the coconut onto a plate and literally roll the ball around in it.
  7. Set all balls onto a tray and put the tray back into the fridge for them to set properly. Once set, you can pack them into a Tupperware container (or similar) that has a lid that seals well.
  8. Depending on the size balls I roll, I normally get about 50 balls from this mixture.

Enjoy!
back to top

Leave a Reply

