Afghan Biscuits

Yesterday we went to the Auckland Home Show. The weather was forecast to be miserable and the traffic and parking at these types of shows is always a nightmare, but my dear husband decided that it was time to go. You see, we have a few ideas for home renovations and these shows are always great to see the latest goodies and gadgets available and pick up fantastic bargains, except that our ideas are still ideas and haven’t even moved into the planning stage just yet.

Afghan Biscuits

I have to admit that it was quite enjoyable wandering the halls and collecting catalogues and business cards along the way and about 15 minutes before we were ready to leave, we turned a corner and found ourselves in front of the SMEG kitchen appliance and whiteware stand.  For some reason they had a bright orange Lamborghini on show so that distracted my family but my attention was taken by the most beautiful fridge I’ve ever ween. Honestly, I experienced tunnel vision and I could feel my chest tighten and breath quicken with excitement? adoration? love? I’m not sure, and yes I know it sounds ridiculous, but a few years ago we remodelled the kitchen after our stove chose to misbehave and blow up in the middle of the night, waking us to the smell of burning and smoke coming from the oven. Our fridge was still relatively new so it was included in the remodelling. The plan was always to replace it with something more modern and family friendly but investigations since then have taught us that fridges are generally not made to that size anymore. We’ve now come up with a plan to relocate the position of the fridge, but that would require the purchase of a new larger one but as it’s a “want” and not a “need” it has to wait a while so has been relegated to the list of “ideas”.

My discovery yesterday fits EXACTLY in the new position for the much wanted new fridge. Sadly, my budget doesn’t extend that far just yet and I came home and Googled the model and dimensions. I must have stared at it for about half an hour while playing out different schemes in my mind. I even imagined Chocolate Goose becoming really famous where I’m being offered free products to trial and use in my kitchen…yeah right…like SMEG are really going to give me a fridge. I can dream can’t I?

So I did the next best thing and got out my baking goodies and proceeded to make these delicious biscuits. While trying to find the perfect recipe a few years ago I came across this one and I can’t fault it. Some recipes had too large a quantity of crushed cornflakes or the dough was too wet, but these work perfectly for me. I make the biscuits a fair size, not too big and not too small and enjoy that they are not a very hard biscuit that snaps when you bite into it. They almost crumble into your mouth and melt, while the crushed cornflakes add a lovely fine texture.

ingredients:
170 g butter (room temperature)
½ cup / 100 g brown sugar
1½ cups / 180 g flour
3 Tbsp cocoa
½ tsp baking powder
2 cups cornflakes

Icing:
½ cup chocolate drops
2 Tbsp sour cream

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C (160°C fan-forced).
  2. Place a sheet of baking paper onto an oven cookie tray.
  3. Cream the butter and brown sugar together in an electric mixer.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients together and add to the creamed mixture.
  5. Crush the cornflakes and knead gently into the cookie dough.
  6. Roll the dough into round balls and flatten slightly.
  7. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes, remove from the oven and allow to cool on a cooling rack.
  8. To prepare the icing, gently melt the chocolate drops in the microwave or using a double-boiler on the stove. Stir in the sour cream until well combined.
  9. Ice each cooled biscuit with a blob of the chocolate mixture and add a walnut piece on top of each.
  10. Allow time to set – if you can – or gobble them up with the melty chocolate mixture.
  11. Once set, they can be stored in an airtight container for 3 – 5 days.

Enjoy!

back to top

Leave a Reply

