Crunchies

Dilemmas. We all have them, none of us really enjoy them, so who needs them? Not me…I have a dilemma on my hands and am trying to think wisely and not be a Worry Wort before I have to make a decision.  But I’m a planner. And planners plan. I like to have A Plan. I like to know what I’m going to do. Surprises and spontaneity are great, but I like to plan when I’ll be spontaneous :).

Traditional Oaty Crunchies

How do you deal with dilemmas? I think about them, continuously. Looking at the options from every angle possible. Sometimes I even write lists of Pros and Cons. I was taught that once you had committed to something, you always saw it through. People were counting on you and your commitment and word should mean something. But what if something better comes along? Do you look at it from a personal perspective as to what would be most gratifying and enjoyable? Do you look at what would be better for your family circumstances? I worry that if I make the wrong decision I’ll end up regretting it and longing for the other option.

Choices, Choices, Choices. So lucky to have choices but as my good friend always tells me (‘cos her husband always tells her this and we are sooo similar), don’t worry about something that hasn’t happened yet. My wonderful other half is telling me that we should be thankful that we have choices and not waste energy on trying to work it all out when what will be will be. Nature, The Universe, God – however you want to look at it, has a way of taking care of things. Que Sera Sera and all that.

So as I contemplate my dilemma while trying very hard not to, I shall sit with a fresh cup of tea and enjoy some newly baked crunchies. Ah, the crunchies. What are they you ask? Delicious little oat, golden syrup, coconut squares – similar to a muesli or granola bar, but home made so have no nasty chemicals or preservatives. They are normally a golden brown colour but I opted for a darker, richer soft brown sugar with this batch.  Treat yourself.

ingredients:
230 g butter
1 Tbsp golden syrup
2 cups oats
1 cup flour
1 cup coconut
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 º C.
  2. Mix the flour, oats and coconut in a bowl.
  3. Melt the butter in a small pot on the stove.
  4. Add the syrup and sugar and heat.
  5. When the butter is bubbling, add the bicarb. Stir quickly as the mixture will rapidly increase in volume and remove from the heat.
  6. Pour the butter mixture into the dry ingredients and stir together by hand.
  7. Using the back of a metal spoon, gently press the crunchie mixture into a greased or lined baking tray (approx 30 cm x 20 cm or similar, depending on how thick you like your crunchies.
  8. Bake for 15 minutes at 180 º C then turn the oven down to 160 º C and bake for a further 10 minutes until golden brown.
  9. Allow to cool in the pan before slicing.

Enjoy!

back to top

2 thoughts on “Crunchies

Leave a Reply

