Oat, Raisin and Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have recently found myself in the position where I have a little more time on my hands than usual so I’m in happy heaven when able to spend that time creating in my lovely kitchen. With it being school holidays, little man and I are enjoying baking together again, like the old days before he started school.  Yesterday he suggested baking cookies so we had a great time looking through all my old recipes until he chose the one he wanted.  With him being bigger now, he wants to stir, pour, add, sieve and operate the mixer by himself and I have to say, I’m way more relaxed than I used to be knowing that he can see and understand why he shouldn’t put his fingers into the mixing bowl while it is creaming the eggs and sugar!

This recipe is an old favourite which I cut off a box of Oats years ago. The original doesn’t include the chocolate chips, but I seem to have passed on the “chocolate gene”, so it was decided we’d add both milk and white chocolate chips. The original recipe is a great base for adding to or changing ingredients to whatever suits your taste buds at the time. I’ve replaced the raisins with cranberries before and a dash of coconut works well too.  Even replacing some of the flour with cocoa for a chocolate version makes a nice change.  Just remember to adjust the ingredients accordingly when adding or replacing with something else.

Oat, Raisin and Chocolate Chip Cookies

ingredients:
2 cups rolled oats
180 g unsalted butter, softened but not melted
1 cup dark sugar (raw sugar will work, but the granules will not melt/mix completely – soft brown works very well)
2 large eggs at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp ground cinnamon (optional)
1 cup raisins, or half and half with chocolate chips (I have to admit I added a wee bit more chocolate!)

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a few baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until it is soft and fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Stir in the vanilla extract.
  5. Sift together the flour, baking powder and cinnamon (if using) and stir into the creamed mixture.
  6. Add the oats, raisins and chocolate chips and stir until thoroughly combined.
  7. Using two teaspoons, or a tablespoons, depending on the size cookies you want, drop heaps of mixture onto the trays, allowing room between each cookie as they will spread quite a bit.
  8. Bake for 12 – 15 minutes. Once cooked, remove from the oven and leave on the trays to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  If you move them too soon, they may still be too fragile and break.
  9. The recipe says you should get 48 but I’ve never really got more than about 36 decent sized biscuits.

Enjoy!

back to top

2 thoughts on “Oat, Raisin and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

